12th Anniversay

For 22 years, this successful little tech company in Denver and its building at 1400 South Colorado Blvd were my hangout.  It was a good run for me and I learned a lot about business, technology and people.  12 years ago this week(8/12/2005),  traded a corner office, the Porsche 911 and big house in a golf course community for a little change of pace.

Trips to British Colombia and France that autumn were fabulous.  But, my friend T’s invitation to visit Panama turned out to be my best vacation ever.  Panama’s sights, people and beauty were amazing, as I had never been south of Florida in North America.

The possibility of living in Latin America was the biggest part of the vacation.  That Panama trip was January 2006.  If you have never been to Panama, I highly recommend it for its cosmopolitan city, hidden beaches and beautiful coffee producing mountains.

lehighwinter

Photo from my front patio in Denver, 2006…Largest tree was one of 3 maples that all survived.

During a very cold and wet winter in Denver, I continued remodeling my home in order to sell it, make a profit and move.  Where?  After construction work during the day, night time was spent researching the internet for my next home.

Panama, Mexico, Costa Rica, Belize, and other countries in Latin America have hundreds of real estate websites full of propaganda.  Promises of future golf/tennis developments, swimming pools, airports, marinas eco parks andon andon are the standard theme “coming soon” to each development that you research.

Climate is also a big expat propaganda item.  Minimizing summer heat and humidity with subjective phrases like “cool ocean breezes” and “gentle Caribbean zephyrs” attempt to mask the 40C/104F temperatures and sauna-like humidity.  Climate happened to be my #1 priority for my next spot in the universe.  I would trade a couple months of cooler(50F days, still golfable) winter weather  in exchange for a mild summer days at 80F and less.

A couple of fuzzy brain cells remind me that the climate thing brought me to researching the Pacific coast of Baja.  The more I read, the more it appeared to be a perfect fit.

August 12, 2006 was the day I received the winning contract to sell my house.

In late August, 2006, 2 days after my house sale closing, I began my drive west.  Peaked at real estate in Rosarito Beach, Ensenada, San Quintin, and La Paz.  It was 103F in La Paz that September. No thanks.  Drove all the way back to Denver homeless, boo-hoo.

Two days later, a realtor in Ensenada, who was out of town during my first Baja trip, called and asked when I was returning.  Flew to San Diego 2 days later, took the bus to Ensenada and bought my lot.  Thanks, J, for the SD accommodation.

Back to the office building photo above, I had one of the south facing offices with a terrific view of Pikes Peak in Colorado Springs 75 miles away(thanks J &F).  But, I think my current view, below, is a smidgen better and also removes the snow from the mountains.

casaeste

Hope tonight’s sky cooperates for star gazing…

As every year, Earth will cross a field of small particles left by comet Swift Tuttle, which will impact the atmosphere of our planet at an average speed of 50 kilometers per second, which will create green or blue light trails in the sky.

This phenomenon can be seen throughout Baja California and the region, but particularly with greater intensity this Saturday, August 12 and Sunday, August 13, preferably in places away from the urban luminosity.

MonitorEconomico.org

6 Comments

  1. zoe jussel
    Posted August 12, 2017 at 07:19 | Permalink | Reply

    I love to read the before and after decision making and the hows and whys of people ending up in a great place to live. Were it not for the extreme 6 month humidity and heat, we might still be in Mazatlan, but it wasn’t too hard to make Baja the final place to nest.

    • bajadock
      Posted August 12, 2017 at 08:22 | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks Z, cheers and hope to see you soon.

  2. Linda Haines
    Posted August 12, 2017 at 07:30 | Permalink | Reply

    Having just made a big move ourselves, though not as bold and adventurous as yours. I loved reading of your process. It has been quite an adventure, no?

    • bajadock
      Posted August 12, 2017 at 08:23 | Permalink | Reply

      Change is good for the soul and underwear. CHEERS L & S!

  3. Gabriel Ben-Or
    Posted August 12, 2017 at 07:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Happy anniversary, Doc! Batya n’ Gabriel

    >

    • bajadock
      Posted August 12, 2017 at 08:23 | Permalink | Reply

      Cheers, friends, thank you.

Leave a Reply

