Crime Hits Home

Colonia Puerto Escondido, center right, is my neighborhood.  We are on the south side of Ensenada Bay in Baja California.

My morning usually begins around 6AM with coffee, music and reading.  This Wednesday morning added a new ingredient.

Heard some noise as if a worker was doing some type of construction around 7:15.  Walked out to my 2nd floor patio to see a white van and 2 guys taking stuff from my lower level.

Shouted at them and stupidly went down the stairs to confront them.  One more guy was half asleep in the back of the van.  They took off.

What was stupid was me not having any weapon at hand and attempting to do what??? My lucky news was that only one of the three, the lead dude, appeared to pose a physical threat.  Number two was scraggly with a bandage on his neck. #2 was Tommy Chong’s brother.  Number three was nearly in dream state.  Guessing they were drugees.

Called 911 and gave them all of the information.  Approx 1990s Quest(Nissan) van, smashed in right rear and side, California plates.  The 911 call was at 7:40.

Called a friend/neighbor for whatever reason after that.  I was surprised at how upset I was and still had adrenaline running 30 minutes after the confrontation.

7:15 in the morning?

Saw running water coming from under my garage doors.  My lower level has an apartment and a 2 car garage. Unbelievably, these guys tried to detach my water pump, which was now spraying water from its location in my garage.  More good news was that they did not break the connections.

I have been away much of the spring and had not visited that lower level apartment in months.  When I looked around, I realized that I had lost quite a few items, including 2 bicycles, a Yamaha keyboard, a table saw, a spare water pump and lots of hand tools.  It will take a while to realize the inventory missing.

But, I also understood that to get all of that stuff, this morning’s shopping was not their first at my house.

Stuff is low on my list, so I really don’t care about losing it.

My peace and health and that of my friends and neighbors is vital.

I would change many things on my behavior yesterday morning.  WTF, no photos?  I was in full defense/fright/flight mode and was not cool under the pressure.  Told a friend that I would have an embellished story in 10 years about my bravery and how I took down 6 thugs with my bare hands, hah!

Our neighborhood, Colonia Puerto Escondido is a rural, secluded, quiet spot.

We have been discussing neighborhood security a lot recently as crime has increased in Northern Baja, Ensenada and our area.  There have been at least 5 buglaries in our neighborhood in June.

More good news is that we are working on our overall neighborhood security.  Any and all layers of security are good ideas.

Lighting in our hood is weak.  At night, the entry to the neighborhood is very dark with only a few exterior lights lit on houses.  I added dusk to dawn lights to my house this spring and will add more.

We are working on radio communication, walkie talkie, push to talk(PTT) smart phone apps, individual alarms, individual protection and more.  Heck, what took us so long?  Well, you have to start some time.

We also hope to get an access gate with entry technology that will meet our needs.

Colonia Puerto Escondido housing map

Back to that 911 call, I saw a police car roll by my house at 1PM.  Because my shouting talent from my terrace worked so well at 7:30AM, I thought I could shout down the patrol car.  Nada.

Called the police # in Maneadero at 154-1724.  “No, call this number, 154-0088”.

For police press 1.  For trouble press 2.  For big trouble, press 3.  For really big shit trouble press 4.  Ok, I’m kidding.  But, why can’t the police main # handle my burglary report? Obviously, my 911 call went nowhere.

Patrol car showed up in approx 25 minutes.  It was great Spanglish practice for me and handled all well, except that I could not come up with “bandage” in Spanish as the one unique characteristic on Tommy Chong’s neck.  Vendage!  “Cinta para sangre” could have worked.

The police questioning took on a repetitive nature.  My guess is that they were trying to catch me in a lie, because there was no sign of damage or forced entry.  I had left the door to my apt unlocked.  My fault, youbetcha.

At one point, one of the cops was so interested in my story that he was checking out his teeth in the driver’s side exterior mirror of the cop car.  Must have a hot date that afternoon.

They took my residente permanente ID info, phone #, address… .  BTW, they indicated that there was no info on my 911 call at Maneadero police station.

After much chatter throughout Wednesday, two neighbors saw the van approaching.  Two other neighbors walked right by the van in front of my house, including 1 seeing the guys getting out of the van.  No blame here at all.  Looks like workers starting their day at a house.

Careful and good luck out there.

4 Comments

  1. Jose Ismael Morales
    Posted June 22, 2017 at 07:11 | Permalink | Reply

    Nice report…Good minds coming together should solve the problem. Lucky no one was hurt and no weapons were flashed…

  2. Posted June 22, 2017 at 07:22 | Permalink | Reply

    Our community in BCS went through a real rash of burglaries too, but we have it under control now. Organize a neighborhood watch. We use a website to communicate news privately to residents and publicly to others. You can get the same one. https://nwg.24sevenpulse.com

  3. Yvonne
    Posted June 22, 2017 at 13:31 | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for info! I’m buying a lot up there and will be building a house.

  4. Posted June 24, 2017 at 10:41 | Permalink | Reply

    A brief similar situation here in Playas San Miguel at the opposite end of the bay. Several homes, stolen car etc…..thankful it was “brief”.

Leave a Reply

