Sensual Storms

Thanks to friend, the “Coolest Bean”, here is a peak into my excitement, could be lust, for big storms.

I have never experienced a recorded hurricane, but, my now neighborhood, on the south end of Ensenada, Baja California, has seen at least three 80+MPH storms in my 10 years of residence.

One of my favorite storm memories was in Steamboat Springs, Colorado with my girlfriend in 1987.  We enjoyed a huge dwelling at Kutuk Lodge with big windows viewing south on a summer weekend.  While wining and chopping veggies for a salad, the wind became fierce.

We stopped our butcher block bingo dance in favor of the view through a huge window showing a dark grey wall of water in the sky approaching from the south with a decent-but-no-recuerdo bottle of grape juice.  It was at sunset. The storm event likely lasted a total of 30 minutes.

But that Colorado evening of thunder, wind, rain, food, wine and ensuing frolic have stayed with me for more than 30 years.  I have lost track of D.A.S. and hope she is well.

Having lived most of my life in the desert of Colorado(28 years) and now the desert of Baja, rain is a sensory rich event for my soul.  My home in Ensenada receives approx 8 or 4 or 6 inches(must be a guy thing) of precipitation annually.

The mini squalls of approx 1 mile diameter that dance across Bahia Ensenada during “winter” are amazing entertainment.  They excite me more than a tv sit-com…do they still make those, or am I too old and white?… or a reality click bait program…or the “my politician is better than your politician” gaggle of adolescent baby bummers.

My friends are as different as each storm cloud formation.  Eccentric buddies are a postive energy field for me.

If I am lucky enough to enjoy a front seat to a storm, a bottle of wine, a simple dinner and share it all with good friend, I am lucky enough.

My wish is reality, as I am in Florida sharing my dream today with my favorite girl: mom. Two inches of rain fell today.  Two bottles of wine are also down. A.C. Jobim is playing.  Buena suerte.

Leave a Reply

